NAASCU Unfolds

The 12th season of the National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (NAASCU) unfolds on July 30 at the Makati Coliseum with eight schools participating in basketball competition.

League president Dr. Jay Adalem of St. Clare College and STI board member Mhel Garrido see a tight race for the title with the absence of defending champion University of Manila.

UM, the seven-time champion, took a leave of absence but Adalem promised that the Hawks are set to make a comeback in 2013.

The other participating schools are STI, Centro Escolar University, Our Lady of Fatima, St. Clare, AMA Computer University, City University of Pasay and Trace College Los Baños.

Fatima and CEU are favored in the juniors and women's events, respectively.

The opening ceremony starts at 9 a.m. with a traditional opening ceremonies that will be graced by actor and sportsman Richard Gomez, Chris Tiu, Alvin Patrimonio, Fritz Gaston and Olsen Racela.

Also on tap are volleyball, cheerdance, badminton, track and field, table tennis, chess, taekwondo and swimming.


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.


We still have to ask you: What will happen in Pacquiao-Mayweather?

Poll Choice Options