Villamor dominates Riviera leg, wrests WGAP lead

Villamor flashed top form and frolicked in the third leg of the 2012 Champion Infinity WGAP Circuit presented by Pacsports, ruling Classes A and B in contrasting fashions and seizing the overall lead at the Riviera Golf and Country Club in Silang, Cavite recently.

Sam Martirez, Harmie Constantino, Chanelle Avaricio, and Jo Barredo combined for 153 under the Modified Stableford scoring system as Villamor nipped Tagaytay Highlands in the countback - the sum of the handicaps of the four players who counted in 10-to-play, four-to-count format event - to clinch the victory in the centerpiece division of the event.

Tagaytay settled for second while Sta. Elena placed third with 152 in the most disputed contest so far in the circuit organized by the Women's Golf Association of the Phils.

Gie Bote of Tagaytay took the individual title with 43 points.

Taking the cue from their Class A teammates, Jing Lozada, Ting Yupangco, Mary Ann Reyes and Amelou Juinio assembled 161 points to capture the Class B crown, beating Riviera, which had 152, by nine points, while Tagaytay wound up third with 148 points.

Beng Ibo of Riviera bagged the individual plum with 43 points.

Reigning back-to-back overall champion Alabang, meanwhile, topped Class A as Renee Francisco, Josephine Melrose, Maria Brumann and Eternity Labio put in a 149-point aggregate to thwart Forest Hills , which pooled a 147, while Tagaytay turned in another third place effort with a 144.

Tagaytay's Jessalyn Tan shot 41 points to clinch the individual honors in the event which also drew the participation of Camp Aguinaldo , Canlubang, Manila Golf, Orchard, Valley Golf and Villamor.

With its two victories, Villamor, which also ruled Class B in the second leg at Forest Hills , grabbed the overall lead with 13 points, dislodging erstwhile frontrunner Sta. Elena, which swept the three titles in the kickoff leg at Villamor. The Sta. Elena golfers slid to second with 10 points while Alabang moved up to

Meanwhile, WGAP action shifts to Orchard's Palmer's Course on July 9 for the fourth leg while Canlubang's north course will host the fifth stage on Aug. 20. The circuit will go to Ayala Greenfield on Sept. 3 for the sixth leg while Tagaytay Midlands will host the penultimate leg on Sept. 24-25 before winding up at Sta. Elena on Oct. 15.


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.


We still have to ask you: What will happen in Pacquiao-Mayweather?

Poll Choice Options